Uncategorized

Dear Emily..

Dear Emily,

Today you are 9!  I can’t believe it.

IMG_0857

As I sat down to type your yearly birthday letter a wave of emotions came over me.  Your birthday is always such a bittersweet day for me.

Every year on your birthday, I can’t help but reflect back and remember everything we went through with you.  To save on time, I will post your full birth testimony on a different post.

HOWEVER, I want you to always remember this:  You are an OVERCOMER!!!

 

Persistent Pulmonary Hypertension.  Seizures.  Collapsed Lungs.  Biliary Atresia.  Hip Dysplasia.  Dyslexia.

ALL of these things you have overcame in your short 8 years on this Earth!  You are our miracle baby and have a true fighter spirit!  Always know that you are a treasure and the Lord is going to do wonderful things in your life if you live for Him.

FullSizeRender (72)

Year 8 was a great year for you.

The most important thing that happened is that you gave your heart to Jesus at church camp last summer.  That is the single most important decision you will ever make in your life!

You also learned that basketball is probably going to be the sport that you choose to focus on.  Since you are a lefty if you keep working really hard I feel like you could do well with this sport.

School {3rd grade} was a challenging year for you.  It started off VERY difficult and we had to adjust and re-evaluate the best ways you learn.  Since everything was getting a little more complicated, your dyslexia started to bother you more.  However, you never gave up and you kept trying your best!  We had great help with your amazing teachers and you finished the year out strong reading at grade level and scoring 5th grade level in math!  Daddy and I were so proud of the progress you made in school.

You continue to be our social butterfly and never meet a stranger.  I loved hearing all about your day and learning about the new friends you made at school.  I’m so thankful you accept everyone for who they are and are kind to all you meet.

Here you are last night as I was tucking you in bed.  I pray I always remember your squeal as you said tomorrow is my biiirrrttthhhhdaay and you literally shook with excitement!

IMG_0852

Never lose your excitement for life!  When you like something you give it 100% and I love that about you.  You crack me up with how attached you get to a toy.  At Christmas time it was Littlest Pet Shop.  Right now your obsession is American Girl dolls.  You will play for hours and hours down in the basement dressing your dolls and playing school or make-up with them.  You have the best imagination and are so creative!

You are SO sensitive to others and their feelings and that makes my mommy heart proud.  You are always thinking of your friends and wanting to help others.

This year you really started helping me out around the house more.  You are the first one to help me unload the dishwasher or fold a load of laundry.

Your daddy and I always say that there needs to be more Emily Graces in the world.

Please never lose your care-free/happy personality.  Always look for the good in people and smile to those that are having a bad day.  Keep working hard and having fun.

I’m so thankful God chose me to be your mom.  I look at you  and am amazed at how far He has brought you.  Looking at you no one would ever know that we were told you might not make it and that you were in the NICU for 2 weeks fighting to live.  God has truly blessed us and I can’t wait to watch you grow.

I hope year 9 is the best year yet!  I’m sure you will get a little sassier, a little taller, and bring a whole lot more love to me and your daddy and sissy.

Happy 9th Birthday, Emily Grace Bolin!  Can’t wait to hit St. Louis with you this weekend and celebrate you!

FullSizeRender (75)FullSizeRender (76)FullSizeRender (77)FullSizeRender (79)FullSizeRender (78)FullSizeRender (83)FullSizeRender (80)FullSizeRender (81)FullSizeRender (82)FullSizeRender (84)FullSizeRender (85)FullSizeRender (86)FullSizeRender (87)FullSizeRender (88)FullSizeRender (89)FullSizeRender (90)

FullSizeRender (91)

IMG_0856

 

 

Love,

Mommy

 

One thought on “Dear Emily..

Leave a Reply